top of page

DVC AAPM Young Investigator Symposium and MedPhys Slam 2019

Almost 30 physicists attended the 2019 Young Investigator Symposium at the MD Anderson Cancer Center at Cooper on March 21.


12 YIS presentations and 1 MedPhys Slam presentation were given.

The YIS judges, Winnie Zhu, Paula Salanitro, and Badal Juneja, chose 3 winners and 2 honorable mentions. 


Congratulations to: 

Winner: Bruno Barufaldi (Penn), “Determining the limit of calcification detection in tomosynthesis using virtual clinical trials”

Winner: Emily Hubley (TJU), “Geometric and dosimetric differences due to image registration workflows for frameless GammaKnife Icon patients”

Winner: Michele Kim (Penn), “Commissioning and quality assurance of an image-guided small animal proton/photon radiation research platform for radiobiological studies”

Honorable Mention: Kristen Lau (Penn), “Evaluation of silver sulfide nanoparticles as a contrast agent for spectral photon-counting mammography”

Honorable Mention: Heather Petroccia (Penn), "Summation of Cherenkov images acquired during total skin electron therapy for cumulative surface dose using elliptical cylinder"

Alisha Shutler (Christiana) will be representing the DVC at the 2019 AAPM MedPhys Slam with her presentation: 

"Scripting solutions for tumor motion management" 

Awards will be presented at our Spring Symposium. Thanks to all who participated and made the event a success!

2019 DVC-AAPM Young Investigator Symposium and Slam Program

Pictures from the Event!

bottom of page