top of page

History of the Delaware Valley Chapter


The Philadelphia Radiological Physicists was formed on February 28, 1952 by      

  • John Hale and Robert Gorson of University Hospital      

  • S. Reid Warren, Jr. and Ferdinand Werner of University of Pennsylvania      

  • James Bierly of Jefferson and Pennsylvania Hospitals      

  • George Henney of Temple Hospital      

  • James Weatherwax and Theodore Miles of Oncologic Hospital      

  • Theodore Sopp of Philadelphia General, Hahnemenn, and Jewish Hospitals.

During the meeting, the founding members elected leadership and formed committees with specific oversight goals. It was decided that the society would meet on the last Thursday of every month. The first official meeting was held on March 27, 1952. The members would discuss interhospital problems and the future directions of the group. The Philadelphia Radiological Physicists assimilated into the American Association of Physicists in Medicine when the organization was formed in 1958. 

*Information obtained from the Philadelphia Radiological  Physicists meeting minutes

bottom of page